About USA Artistic Swimming


 Spectators have been awed by the grace and power of the sport of artistic swimming since the inception of the sport in the early 1900s. Artistic Swimming swimming requires a unique combination of overall body strength and agility, grace and beauty, split-second timing, musical interpretation, stamina and dramatic flair. Many have described the sport as a mixture of swimming, dance and gymnastics. The goal of every performance is technical excellence, artistic impression and synchronization with the music. 

OLYMPIC HISTORY: The inaugural artistic swimming U.S. National Championships were held in 1946, just one year after the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) first recognized the sport. A few years later, the 1955 Pan American Games included synchronized swimming events, and the World Aquatic Championships soon followed. After almost 40 years of concerted effort, synchronized swimming was at last included in the Olympic Games in 1984, with the United States winning the first solo and duet Olympic gold medals.

Four events are currently recognized internationally in artistic swimming: solo, duet, mixed duet and team (eight swimmers). The competitive rules and manner of judging are similar to such sports as figure skating and gymnastics. In the 1996 Olympics, the team event replaced solo and duet competition, which had been a part of the Olympic program since 1984. However, the overwhelming demand for tickets and broad television appeal of the 1996 team event prompted the IOC to reinstate the duet event for 2000.

OUR ORGANIZATION: The organization now known as USA Artistic Swimming was formerly named U.S. Synchronized Swimming, also known as USA Synchro, and was established as a nonprofit organization in 1979. The organization has since been renamed as USA Artistic Swimming (USAAS) to better align with the international name change of the sport. USAAS serves as the United States national governing body for the sport. It is recognized by the International Olympic Committee, the United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee and FINA (Federation Internationale de Natation Amateur) — the international governing federation.USAAS organizes, participates in, and promotes a variety of competitive events each year. These events begin at the local level and continue in the following categories: Age Group (12-19), Junior (15-18), Senior and Masters (20+). 

USA Artistic Swimming Swimming’s funding comes from a variety of sources including: membership fees, the USA Artistic Swimming Foundation, the U.S. Olympic Committee, corporate sponsorship, and private and public donations.

About Us

  • About USAAS
  • Become a Member
  • Contact Us
Artistic Swimming and USOPC Logo

© 2023 Copyright © USA Artistic Swimming - All Rights Reserved.